Sunday, January 8, 2017

2016 All-Bilo Running Back of the Year: FBS

Awards season continues at the Bilo College Football Report, as I name my 2016 FBS Running Back of the Year. Here are our finalists:

D'Onta Foreman, Texas
Donnel Pomphrey, San Diego State
Brian Hill, Wyoming
Aaron Jones, UTEP
Jeremy McNichols, Boise State

This was a very difficult decision, as there were several deserving candidates from a very large pool. In short, I had to decide, and the winner is:

Donnel Pomphrey, San Diego State
It is hard to ignore the player who broke the NCAA all-time rushing record in the Las Vegas Bowl this season, so Pomphrey became the no nonsense pick here. He rushed for 2133 yards on the season, and scored 17 times, averaging 6.11 yards per carry on 24.93 carries per game. Pomphrey wraps up an amazing career with the Aztecs, and most certainly will be a 1st round pick in the 2017 NFL draft.
Congratulations to Donnel and to the San Diego State program.

No comments:

Post a Comment