Tuesday, January 17, 2017

2016 All-Bilo Place Kicker and Punter of the Year: FCS

We move on to special teams now, as we explore the PK and P of the Year in FCS football. Here are my finalists for the PK award for 2016...

Griffin Trau, Richmond
Aidan O'Neill, Towson
James Cooper, Wagner
Eric Medina, Texas Southern
Sean Slattery, Illinois State
Alex Probert, Liberty

And here is the winner...

Griffin Trau, Richmond
Trau had a fantastic season as the Spiders made yet another run in the NCAA playoffs. He finished the season hitting 23/26 FGs for Richmond in 13 games as a sophomore, meaning that he has two more chances to repeat for this award.
Congratulations to Griffin Trau and to the Richmond program!

And here are my finalists for Punter of the Year in FCS football...

Miles Bergner, South Dakota
Jake Ryder, Towson
Tate Lewis, Southern Utah
Ian Berryman, Western Carolina
Joe Figenshaw, Sam Houston State
Alex Knight, Southeast Missouri State

and the winner is...

Tate Lewis, Southern Utah
Lewis led the nation with 78 total punts in 2016, and through it all, averaged 45.4 yards per punt, as he racked up 3545 yards in punts on the season in 11 games. He was a senior in 2016.
Congratulations to Tate Lewis and to the Thunderbirds program!

No comments:

Post a Comment