Tuesday, January 10, 2017

2016 All-Bilo Coach of the Year: FBS

This is my final All-Bilo Award for FBS football in 2016. Here are my finalists for Coach of the Year:

Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
Chris Petersen, Washington
James Franklin, Penn State
PJ Fleck, Western Michigan
Clay Helton, USC
Nick Saban, Alabama
Dabo Swinney, Clemson

Congratulations to all of these coaches for fine seasons across the board. The one coach who won the award for 2016 will be...

Clay Helton, USC
When USC started the season just 1-3, rumblings were already beginning that USC could make a change even after such a short stint for Helton. He then made a decision to make a change at QB, handing the ball to freshman Sam Darnold, and the rocket took off. USC never lost another game, nearly stole the PAC-12 South, and then came roaring back from a double digit deficit to pull off a major win over Penn State in the Rose Bowl. Helton went from almost losing his job to having a football team that many on the west coast will be fearing for the next few years to come.
Congratulations to Clay Helton, and to the Trojan program!

No comments:

Post a Comment