Sunday, January 18, 2015

2014 All-Bilo RB of the Year Finalists and Winner: FBS

Here are my finalists for All-Bilo RB of the Year, FBS for 2014:

Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Jay Ajayi, Boise State
Tevin Coleman, Indiana

Another tough category, RB of the year was very difficult to decide just narrowing down to the finalist category.

Gordon more than led the nation with a booming 2587 yards and 29 TDs scored on the season. Gordon was nearly unstoppable as a junior this season, and eclipsed the mark that Andre Williams put up as last years award winner.

Ajayi was yet another in a long line of really solid Boise State RBs, and leaves for the NFL after rushing for 1823 yards and a whopping 18 TDs on the season. Ajayi was a surprisingly physical runner at times, and his TDs rushing were second nationally only to Gordon.

Coleman was a huge surprise out of Indiana and gave us a rare season where two RBs finished with over 2000 yards rushing, when he finished with 2036 yards as a junior. Coleman added 15 scores, but Indiana never jumped on his back to turn a corner and go bowling. Despite how bad the team was around him, Coleman was always a certain source of power.

And the winner is...

Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
There was never really any doubt who the winner could possibly be in 2014, as Gordon ran one of the all time great single seasons in the history of the game. Nobody could tackle him, and he ran like the wind all season long. Gordon has ended his career at Wisconsin, and will move on to the NFL, where Mel Kiper projects him going in the first round to the Cardinals.
Congratulations to Melvin and the Wisconsin program.

No comments:

Post a Comment