Sunday, January 5, 2014

Finalists and Winner: 2013 FBS All-Bilo Linebacker of the Year

We continue our Defensive Awards for 2013 next by naming the finalists and the winner for our FBS Linebacker of the Year. What a year it was by so many great performances across the country at the LB position, but only one can be named as our LB of the Year. The finalists are:

Anthony Barr-UCLA
Trent Murphy-Stanford
Ryan Shazier-Ohio State

The final result was close, but one player managed to pull away with an outstanding all around performance that led his team to a BCS Bowl birth and the granddaddy of them all. The winner of our 2013 FBS All-Bilo Linebacker of the Year Award is...

Trent Murphy-Stanford
Murphy, a senior, closed out his brilliant Stanford career with a career season in tow. Murphy finished second in the nation only to DL of the Year award winner Aaron Donald in total TFLs with 23.5 on the year. Murphy returned a pick six, totaled 62 tackles, and registered 15 sacks on the season for 109 yards. He also managed to break up 6 passes, create 5 QB hurries, force 2 fumbles, and block a kick. It was one hell of a finish to one great career for the Cardinal. Congratulations to Trent Murphy and to the Stanford Program!

No comments:

Post a Comment