Sunday, January 5, 2014

Finalists and Winner: 2013 FBS All-Bilo QB of the Year

The time has finally come to name our finalists and winner of our 2013 FBS Quarterback of the Year Award! First of all, here are our finalists for this year's award:

Jameis Winston-Florida State
Derek Carr-Fresno State
Johnny Manziel-Texas A&M

All three quarterbacks amongst our finalists made major cases to win the award in 2013, but one stood out amongst the group for his entire body of work for the 2013 season. As always, one must remember that our award is given based on that entire body of work, and is based on the performance of the individual. It is not voted upon, and is based on statistical compilation for the entire season. In short, this is not a popularity contest, such as what the Heisman has turned into, but is based on pure statistics.
Without further delay, the winner of the 2013 FBS All-Bilo QB of the Year Award is:

Derek Carr-Fresno State
Carr finished in the top ten in seven different major statistical categories in 2013, and led the nation in passing yards (5083), completions (454), touchdown passes (50), and yards per game (391.0). He finished second nationally in passing attempts (659) and attempts per game (50.7). Fresno State rested on Carr's arm all the way through the season, and the Bulldogs were in contention for a BCS birth until the final game of the regular season before an unfortunate loss at San Jose State. Despite attempting 659 passes, he finished with just 8 INTs on the year, or just one pick every 82.375 passes.
Congratulations to Derek Carr, and to the Fresno State Program!

No comments:

Post a Comment