Tuesday, January 28, 2014

2013 FCS All-Bilo Special Teamers of the Year Awards

This post includes winners of our 2013 FCS All-Bilo Kicker, Punter, Punt Returner, and Kick Returner of the Year.

The winner of the 2013 FCS All-Bilo PK of the Year Award is...

Anthony Prevost, Hampton
Prevost connected on 17 of 19 field goals during the 2013 season, leading the nation with an 89.5% success rate.

The winner of the 2013 FCS All-Bilo Punter of the Year Award is...

Kyle Loomis, Portland State
Loomis led the nation with a 46.5 yard per punt average in 2013, leading the competitive Big Sky, and the nation.

The winner of the 2013 FCS All-Bilo Kick Returner of the Year is...

Xavier Roberson, SE Louisiana
Roberson led the nation with an average return of 35.2 yards per return, while returning 3 kicks for scores on the 2013 season. Roberson finished the season with a total of 915 yards in kick returns.

The winner of the 2013 FCS All-Bilo Punt Returner of the Year is...

Torrance Williams, Sam Houston State
Williams had an amazing season for the Bearkats in 2013, averaging 16 yards per punt return, and he piled up 464 yards in punt returns alone. His yardage led the nation for 2013.

Congratulations to all of our special teams winners!

2013 FCS All-Bilo Defensive Back of the Year

The finalists for our 2013 FCS Defensive Back of the Year are as follows:

Casey DeAndrade, New Hampshire
Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State
JD Roussel, Sacred Heart

And the winner of the 2013 award is...

JD Roussel, Sacred Heart
Roussel jumped to the forefront of the nations DB class by picking off 7 passes and breaking up an additional 13 passes during the season, totaling 23 passes defended for the year. Congratulations to JD Roussel and to the Sacred Heart program!

2013 FCS All-Bilo Linebacker of the Year

Here are our finalists for the 2013 FCS All-Bilo Linebacker of the Year Award:

Tazmon Foster, North Carolina Central
Christian Kuntz, Duquesne
Stephon Hodge, Fordham

The winner for 2013 is...

Stephon Hodge, Fordham
Hodge helped drive Fordham to one of the program's best seasons in years in 2013, and led the nation with 94 solo tackles, far and above his closest competitor in that category. Hodge was all over the field in what turned out to be the best year at Fordham since Vince Lombardi himself was a player. Congratulations to Stephon Hodge and to the Fordham program!

2013 FCS All-Bilo Defensive Lineman of the Year

We continue our awards season by naming our 2013 FCS All-Bilo Defensive Lineman of the Year award. The finalists for the award as are as follows:

Terrence Fede, Marist
Brad Daly, Montana State
Jeff Covitz, Bryant

The winner for the 2013 season is...

Brad Daly, Montana State
Daly was a dominant force for the Bobcats up front this season, recording 20.5 tackles for loss and 14 sacks, with both totals either leading the nation, or tying for the lead. Congratulations to Brad Daly and to the Montana State program!

Thursday, January 9, 2014

2013 FCS All-Bilo Tight End of the Year

This was a tough year for TEs in FCS football, as the position was highly downgraded in offenses across the landscape. However, one TE stood out with a truly amazing season compared to anyone in any division. The winner of our 2013 FCS All-Bilo TE of the Year is...

Andrew Robustelli-Jacksonville
Robustelli finished just outside the national top ten in average yards per game with 96.6 yards per game, a truly fantastic number for TEs in today's game. He finished with 51 receptions for a whopping 1063 yards and 11 TDs in 11 games played, averaging 20.84 yards per reception in the high powered Dolphin attack. Robustelli, a junior, should be a focal point in the Dolphin offense once more, when he will try to defend this title in 2014. Congratulations to Andrew Robustelli and to the Jackonsville program!