Tuesday, May 17, 2011

College Football Hall of Fame Inductees Named Today!

The newest members of the College Football Hall of Fame were named today, and there are 16 total new members today. Two new coaches were announced today in Lloyd Carr of Michigan, and Fisher DeBerry of Air Force. 14 players were named to the Hall today, and they include Deion Sanders of Florida State, Marty Lyons of Alabama, Russell Maryland of Miami, Doug English of Texas, and Rob Waldrop of Arizona. Let's take a look at the entire list, and their accomplishments during their careers...


Lloyd Carr
Carr was the head coach at Michigan from 1995-2007, and put together a record of 122-40 during his tenure there. Carr spent his entire head coaching career at Michigan after initially being named interm Head Coach when Gary Moeller was forced to resign after an off field incident. Carr wasn't even supposed to be a final candidate for the job, but he stuck, and didn't look back for over a decade. Carr served as an assistant at Eastern Michigan, West Virginia, Illinois, and at Michigan before becoming the head man for the Wolverines in 1995, and served as an assistant for 19 years under Gary Moeller, Bo Schembechler, and Don Nehlen. Carr's teams won or shared the Big 10 title 5 times, including back to back seasons in 1997-98, and 2003-04. Carr's Wolverines won a split national title in 1997, and he finished out his career at 19-8 against top ten opponents.

Fisher DeBerry
DeBerry coached the Air Force Falcons from 1984-2006, and put together a record of 169-109-1, finishing as the winningest head coach in Air Force history. DeBerry's Falcons won 3 WAC titles despite Air Force never having the depth of talent that other schools in the conference had due to their standing as a military academy. The Falcons had 17 teams finish with winning records in 23 seasons under DeBerry, and they played in 12 bowls during his tenure. In 1966, DeBerry returned to his Alma Mater, Wofford, and served as an assistant for the Terriers for 2 seasons. During that time, Wofford put together a 21 game win streak, and was ranked #1 in NAIA. He also spent 9 seasons as an assistant at Appalachian State. DeBerry served as QB Coach/OC at Air Force from 1980-83 under then coach Ken Hatfield, and was promoted to the head job when Hatfield left for Arkansas.


Deion Sanders, Florida State
Neon Deion was one of the best athletes to ever play college football. He was a 3 sport star at Florida State, as he also competed in baseball and track & field. Lightning speed was his trademark, and he was unbeatable in the secondary. Sanders finished his FSU career with 14 career picks, including 3 in bowls, and was named 1st Team All-American twice, and 3rd Team once. Sanders won the Jim Thorpe Award in 1988 as the countries best DB. His number was retired at FSU in 1995.

Marty Lyons, Alabama
Lyons my be known for being the voice of the New York Jets, but he was a legendary DT at Alabama under Paul "Bear" Bryant. Lyons was named to both the All-American Team and was named SEC Defensive PLayer of the Year in 1978. He finished his career with 202 tackles, 6 forced fumbles, and recovered 4 fumbles. The Crimson Tide won the national championship in in 1978, and Lyons was a central part in that title. The Tide finished 31-5 during the career of Lyons.

Russell Maryland, Miami
Maryland was a central piece to the swagger of the Miami Hurricanes in the late 1980's. Maryland wound up being a major player on two national championship teams, and in 1990, he completed his career by being named UPI Lineman of the Year, and was awarded with the OUtland Trophy, given to the nations best interior lineman. That season, Maryland finished with 96 tackles, including 10.5 sacks. He was inducted into the University of Miami HOF in 2001.

Doug English, Texas
English was a dominant force in the middle for the Longhorns from 1972-74, when he collected 260 tackles and forced 4 fumbles. English was named as an All-Southwest Conference selection twice during his career at Texas, and in 1972, the Horns finished 10-1 and defeated Alabama in the Cotton Bowl. The Longhorns finished that season ranked 3rd in the nation. English represents the 18th Longhorn to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

<i>Rob Waldrop</i>

Rob Waldrop, Arizona
Waldrop was one of the most decorated Arizona Wildcats of all time. He was named All-American twice, won the Pac-10 Defensive POY award, won an Outland Trophy, won what is now called the Nagurski Award, and was a finalist for the Lombardi award. Waldrup wrapped up his career with a senior year consisting of 53 tackles, 14 TFLs, and 8 sacks. He was a central piece to Arizona's "Desert Swarm" defensive attack, and the Wildcats crushed Miami 29-0 in the 1994 Fiesta Bowl.

Carlos Alvarez, Florida
Alvarez is still associated with being one of the greates receivers ever to play for the Gators. Alvarez was a receiver for Florida from 1969-71, and his records stood for 40 years. He is best known for setting a single game record with 15 receptions against Miami in 1969. He finished his career with 2536 yards, and his record of 172 career receptions stood until 2007. He finished his career with 19 TDs. Alvarez was also a 3 time Academic All-American, and was named to the Academic Hall of Fame in 1991. He recorded receptions in 25 consecutive games during his career.

Bill Enyart, Oregon State
Enyart, a FB for the Beavers in 1967-68, was named All-American in 1968, when he rushed for 1304 yards and 17 TDs. He was the 1968 Hula Bowl MVP, and was named All-Conference twice during his career. He went by the nickname "Earthquake".

Jake Scott, Georgia
Jake Scott finished his Georgia career with 16 interceptions over a two season career with the Bulldogs. He was a consensus All-American and SEC POY in 1968. He still holds the SEC record to this day with 2 INTs returned for scores in a single game.

Will Shields, Nebraska
Shields was a unanimous All-American pick in 1992, and was also awarded with the Outland Trophy that season. Behind his blocking, Nebraska led the nation in rushing in 3 consecutive seasons, and the Huskers won the Big 8 title twice. Went on to have a stellar career in the NFL with the Chiefs.

Sandy Stephens, Minnesota
Stephens was the nations first African-American All-American QB in 1961, and was also named the Big 10 MVP. Minnesota won the national title in 1960 with Stephens at QB, and played in back to back Rose Bowls. He finished 4th in Heisman voting in 1961.

Darryl Talley, West Virginia
Talley was a unanimous All-American LB in 1982. He holds the Mountaineer career record with 484 tackles, and is a member of the West Virginia Hall of Fame.

Clendon Thomas, Oklahoma
Thomas was a two time scoring leader for the Sooners during their infamous 47 game winning streak. He was named consensus All-American in 1957, and won 2 national titles under Bud Wilkinson.

Gene Washington, Michigan State
Won back to back national titles at MSU in 1965-66. Washington was the three time receiving leader for the Spartans during his career, and finished with 2 Big 10 titles.

Eddie George, Ohio State
George overcame early difficulties with fumbles to become one of the most prolific backs of all time. George finished his Buckeye career in 1995 when he rushed for 1927 yards and 25 TDs, averaging over 152 yards per game. That season, George was named as Heisman Trophy winner, and also received the Doak Walker, Walter Camp, Maxwell, and Jim Brown awards. Still one of the most decorated backs in college football history. Also one of the only players to ever credit his footwork with having taken ball room dancing lessons with his mother.

Congratulations to all of these deserving recipients!

No comments:

Post a Comment